The Absolutely True Story of a Part-Time Doctoral Student (and Full-Time Teacher)

August 9, 2011

The Kite Runner

Filed under: Uncategorized — rachaelski @ 3:56 pm

I am reading The Kite Runner for the first time, with my 10th grade students. Well, I’m about 5 chapters ahead of the students, but for all intents and purposes, I am reading with them for the first time. I actually really enjoy reading the chapters once on my own and then reading them again, aloud, with my 10th graders. I have 2 sections of 10th grade English, so I end of reading the book 3 times. It allows me to think about and familiarize myself with the text. I feel like I know Amir and Hassan, as well as their fathers, and I am only 5 chapters into the book.

I am using the text to showcase literary devices, as well as to reinforce reading skills. I’ve been very impressed with the students so far. They are very observant, pulling details from the text that I didn’t expect them to right off the bat. One student commented that Ali was more of a father to Amir than his own father, citing examples as to why his father was an absentee father and why Ali was such a good father, both to his son and to Amir.

With my 9th grade students, we are reading Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro. It’s easily one of the best books that I’ve read in years. It was made into a movie, but it didn’t do justice to the movie–like most book-to-movie adaptations. Like the 10th graders, I was impressed with the minute details that the students picked up on and the sophistication of student discussion. I have a hard time keeping my mouth closed, because the students have such thoughtful responses that I want to dialogue with them! I feel like reading Never Let me Go with the students is kind of like being an adult watching the magic of Christmas to a child. I know the surprise that’s to come to the readers….errrr, listeners….and waiting for the surprise to be exposed to them excites me. I anticipate a lot of conversation about this text.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

